EGOS Frontpage  European Group for Organizational Studies
About EGOS | Join | Organization Studies | Conferences | Working Groups | PhD & Postdoc. Information | Job Market | Members
About EGOS    
Board Members

Honorary Members

Roland Calori Prize


News & Notes

Online Forum & Discussion Group


The Roland Calori Prize

for the best article published in Organization Studies

This prize has been created to pay tribute to Professor Roland Calori for his invaluable contribution to the three co-awarding institutions, Organization Studies, Grande Ecole de Management et de Commerce (EM) Lyon and the European Group for Organization Studies (EGOS). The prize of € 2,000 is sponsored by EM Lyon.

The Roland Calori Prize is awarded bi-annually for the best article published in Organization Studies over the previous two years. The winning paper displays methodological quality and theoretical innovativeness and reflects the diversity of social science perspectives as they relate to organizations and the organized. In the spirit of Roland Calori's own work, the prize reflects pluralism in research traditions and diversity of paradigms.

In 2007, the Roland Calori Prize will be awarded for the third time at the 23rd EGOS Colloquium in Vienna. The winner will be announced and celebrated at the EGOS General Assembly.


Previous laureates

Roland Calori Prize 2005

Anne-Wil Harzing and Arndt Sorge

'The Relative Impact of Country of Origin and Universal Contingencies on Internationalization Strategies and Corporate Control in Multinational Enterprises: Worldwide and European Perspectives',

Organization Studies, 2003, 24 (2), 187–214.


Roland Calori Prize 2003

Eero Vaara

'On the Discursive Construction of Success/Failure in Narratives of Post-Merger Integration',

Organization Studies, 2002, 23 (2), 211–248.


Selection Procedure

The selection committee for the Roland Calori Prize is headed by the chair of the Organization Studies Advisory Board and includes the incoming editor-in-chief of Organization Studies and one member of the EGOS Board.

The members of the committee select a short list of nine papers from all articles published in Organization Studies in the two previous years. The committee designates a panel of nine members, out of which five persons must come from outside the Editorial and Advisory Board of Organization Studies and the EGOS Board. From the shortlist of nine articles, the panel members choose the winner of the Roland Calori Prize.



EGOS thanks David Courpasson (EM Lyon) and the following persons for their contribution:

In 2005, the committee members were David Courpasson, Jean-Claude Thoenig and David Wilson.
The panelists were Ruth Aguilera, Michael Aiken, Michael Best, Elisabeth George, Kristian Kreiner, Christian Rouillard, David Seidl, Eero Vaara and John van Mannen.

In 2003, the committee members were Jose Luis Alvarez, Jean-Claude Thoenig, and David Wilson.
The panelists were Elena Antonocopoulou, Juha Jaurila, Mitchell Koza, Kristian Kreiner, Kari Lijla, Ken Starkey, Antonio Strati, Arjen van Witteloostjuin and John Weeks.