James G. March Prize

The James G. March Prize is awarded bi-annually for the best article published in the EGOS online journal Organization Theory, published by SAGE.
  • This prize pays tribute to the scholarship and legacy of Jim March who has been a great inspiration to many scholars within the EGOS community.

  • The winning paper reflects the diversity of social science perspectives as they relate to organizations, organizing, and the organized. Furthermore, it offers a clear theoretical contribution to the scholarly debate, demonstrating impact, significance, critique, and novelty.

  • The prize of € 2,000 is sponsored by SCANCOR; the two co-awarding institutions are the journal Organization Theory and EGOS.

On July 1, 2020, the James G. March Prize has been awarded for the first time during the Awards Ceremony at the virtual 36th EGOS Colloquium 2020.

James G. March Prize 2020 – Winners

Jörgen Sandberg & Haridimos Tsoukas

Sensemaking Reconsidered: Towards a broader understanding through phenomenology
Organization Theory, 1 (1), 2020



EGOS cordially thanks the following persons as jury members for their contributions in 2020:
Eva Boxenbaum, Joep Cornelissen, Penny Dick, Joel Gehman, Markus Höllerer, Juliane Reinecke, and David Seidl (Editorial Board Organization Theory), as well as Jesper Strandgaard (SCANCOR) and the members of the Organization Theory Editorial Review Board.