Annual Award in Honour of

Max Boisot

Following the two well-attended and successful sessions at the 28th EGOS Colloquium in Helsinki on the work of the late Max Boisot, the EGOS Board decided to establish an annual award relating to his field of scholarship.

The "Annual Award in Honour of Max Boisot" – and of his work – is funded from the royalties accruing from the book by John Child and Martin Ihrig: Knowledge, Organization, & Management (Oxford University Press, 2013), which will be both a memorial to Max's work and a means of bringing it to a wider readership. Max was a regular participant at EGOS Colloquia, and EGOS is the ideal home for such an award.
The topic for this award is the knowledge-based study of complex organizations and systems. Contributions in any of the main areas in which Max Boisot forged new understanding through a knowledge perspective are eligible for the award, in particular, research on organizational complexity; the strategic management of knowledge; China's business system; and Big Science.

The award recognizes an outstanding paper – and early career scholars (= less than 5 years since their PhD/ doctorate) is given preference. While the honour and publicity of gaining the prize is the most important consideration, the recipients also receive EUR 250/award.
Winners of the 2016 Award in Honour of Max Boisot, awarded at the 33rd EGOS Colloquium in Copenhagen:

Tomas Farchi (IAE Business School, Buenos Aires, Argentina), Sue Dopson (Saïd Business School, University of Oxford, UK), and George Chondrakis (Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain)
The Role of Hybrid Governing in Science: Fostering Research across Boundaries

Winners of the 2015 Award in Honour of Max Boisot, awarded at the 32nd EGOS Colloquium in Naples:

Goran Calic, Sebastien Hélie, and Elaine Mosakowski (Pardue University, West Lafayette, USA)

Winners of the 2014 Award in Honour of Max Boisot, awarded at the 31st EGOS Colloquium in Athens:

Liselore A. Havermans, Deanne N. Den Hartog, and Anne Keegan (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)